I’m the parent- It’s my job.


I’m a parent. A father. I have a lot of responsibilities. Some of my top responsibilities as a father are to feed, clothe, provide for, and protect my sons and their mother. But there is something more important to the formation of my young men than these things. Unfortunately, too many men rest on their laurels because they bring home a check.
I have the responsibility to be the bigger man. My boys can get under my skin from time to time. I expect it will only get worse. But I have no right to harbor unforgiveness or bitterness toward them at any point in their lives. I have no right to expect anything from them that I don’t teach them by example. I have no right to blame them for any of my or my family’s problems. Why am I writing this? Because I have seen these very things happen.
I have a responsibility to tell them I love them. I have a responsibility to forgive them no matter what. I have a responsibility to be my best for them. I have a responsibility to show them Jesus. I have a responsibility to stand up for them. I have a responsibility to make them the focal point of all I do. Because if I’m doing anything worth doing at all, it will be something that they will learn from and benefit from as much or more than anyone else, that will not rob them of their father or their respect for their father.
I have a responsibility to teach them how a father is supposed to be. Because some day, they will be fathers. They will either command respect from wives and children by their loving and righteous actions, or they will repel respect by their unrighteous actions. And it all rests on me, right here, and right now.
By the way… my boys are 1 and 4 years old. It matters whether I model kindness, forgiveness, and purpose to them. If your children are older, it’s still not too late for you to begin.

Leave a Reply

