Why Not Now?


I caught myself as I was doing it. I headed home from a store and started to text my wife that I had found what I was looking for. Aside from already being behind the wheel and in motion, why not send her a text message? I was excited to find the merchandise I had wanted at a great price (incidentally, it was my Father’s Day gift) and I wanted to share that with her. Why not now?

Well, I stopped myself long enough to realize that excitement is better conveyed in person, eye to eye. Sentiment is better shared by unfiltered voice-to-tympanic membrane contact. Connections are made person-to-person, moment-by-moment, and can be robbed by the urgency of immediate gratification via instant communication devices.

So, why not now? Because the moments that build solid relationships are worth the wait.

Leave a Reply

