A Worthy Cause: Happy Father’s Day!


20120617-234305.jpg

My dad and my sons at the park, Father’s Day 2012.

I just finished a great Father’s Day weekend with my family. Today I honored my dad along with my family, my mom, my brother and his wife.

Yesterday, my family and I went to Downtown Jackson for the Run Jackson event promoting fathers and families. It was presented by the The Greer Campaign , a nonprofit uniting fathers and families created by Jabari Greer of the New Orleans Saints. The event featured a 5k run, a family march, entertainment headlined by Jason Castro of American Idol, food, and jumpers for the kids. I learned that the campaign provides a number of services, most notable of which to me is a 12-week series of fatherhood classes offered at the Salvation Army in Jackson. The goal of these classes is to help fathers become more involved in the lives of their children. Mr. Strayhorn, one of the great volunteers at the event, gave me more info on the classes and I appreciated his help.

Father’s Day unfortunately is not very happy for many fathers and children. Sons and daughters of all ages struggle so often with negative memories of low involvement or outright neglect from their fathers.

It will not be easy, but I want you to know that Happy Father’s Day is a worthy cause to work for. Begin today by making a commitment to connecting with your family.

Leave a Reply

