When is a Man at His Best?


How the need to be my best has hit me so hard…

I’m 32 years old. Right at that age where the kids think I’m old, but my elders insist that I’m still young. But one thing is for sure- I have realized there are a lot of things I could do in my 20’s that I wish I could still do today!

Physically, I have a lot of work to do to get myself to where I can keep up with my boys (5 and 2 years old) as they keep growing- believe me, I intend to match their stride well into their teen and young adult years. But working a desk job (stressful one, at that), fighting the clock each day for quality self- and family-care, trying to have a spiritual life in the midst of it all- I wonder am I, and even can I be, at my absolute best as a man, husband, and dad?

When is a man at his best? At a certain age? Under certain conditions? At a certain income or level of success? At a certain fitness level?

The 2012 Tennessee Men’s Health Report Card recently came out and it has a number of alarming points of information. I will refer to this state progress report throughout this series as well as other sources of information and inspiration. But go ahead and take a look for yourself and see if you are surprised by this one report on the current status of men’s health.

I have a long way to go in life, and as a man, I have to be at my very best for the sake of those around me.

What do you think? What do men need physically, mentally, emotionally, spiritually, relationally, to be at their best? This series will be updated once or twice weekly- check in often and leave your thoughts!

(Read the next post in this series here.)

Leave a Reply

