When Is A Man At His Best Mentally?


20120814-224624.jpg

(I think this picture my wife took represents God’s purpose for man above and beyond our daily, busy activity.)

Don’t some people just seem to know the reason they’re alive all throughout their lives? The ones that seem to be catching all the breaks and making the most of opportunities? I know I have had a real issue with comparing myself to men like that through my life.

“On the other hand, most people don’t start getting a true sense of what gives the greatest return for their effort until they reach their thirties- sometimes even later in life. And what is most rewarding to a person often changes during different seasons of life.” John Maxwell, Leadership Gold.

This quote resonates with me because I am now in my thirties. I’m finding it to be true. I remember a time, however, when I faced a lot of uncertainty and fear about changing seasons and shifting priorities. I went to my mom one time as a kid, on a Saturday morning, crying about a time in the future when I would no longer want to watch cartoons. She motioned to my dad, who was sitting motionless in front of Bugs Bunny and said, “Don’t worry about it, your dad hasn’t given it up yet. You have a long, long time before you have to worry about that!”

A man is at his best mentally… when he knows his purpose in life in each season.

There’s no reason to worry about changing seasons or shifting priorities, like I did as a kid. Times do change, but there is a reason in every season. I assume most men who may be reading this post aren’t yet fighting the battle of “generativity vs. stagnation”, but there are always internal questions to answer and battles to be won in the purpose we are each called to.

This scripture says a lot to me about how men have a strong purpose in life, throughout life:

“I write unto you, fathers, because ye have known him that is from the beginning. I write unto you, young men, because ye have overcome the wicked one. I write unto you, little children, because ye have known the Father.” (1 John 2:13).

Praying every man, every father, to have peace of mind about what is most important in your lives and to know your purpose.

(This post is 3rd in a series- read the previous post here.)

What do you think? When is a man at his best mentally? I’d love to take up the conversation with you! Leave a comment and follow @glengaugh on Twitter.

One thought on “When Is A Man At His Best Mentally?”

Leave a Reply

