The Difference Between Growth and Maturity


We turned a corner with our bedtime routine tonight. I lay below my 2-year-old Jesse on a small futon while he goes to sleep in his crib. Usually he insists on my hand being stuck through the slats and cocked in an unnatural position so he can lay his head in my palm. But that isn’t what he wanted tonight. He lay with his arm stuck through the slats for me to lay my head on!

I don’t know exactly what this meant to him, but I tend to think that he feels comfortable enough without my hand being in his space that he is returning the favor of an assuring hand to me. I also think that he is gaining some independence, but he still wants to know someone is there.

Signs of growth are always exciting- and I believe that is what I witnessed tonight.

But I’m not ready to leave it all up to him to care for me- he isn’t mature enough for that. When I have my hand in the crib for him to lay on, he twists it up so uncomfortably until it is in a comfortable position for him. And though he offered his hand to me tonight, he still wasn’t happy unless I used it the way he wanted me to (and he let me know, nice and loud!)

So here is a quick picture of the difference between growth and maturity:
Young and immature: I’ll help myself…
Growing but immature: I’ll help you in my own way…
Growing and maturing: I’ll help you in the way that is most helpful to you.

How frequently do we adults say (in our minds) “I’ll help you, but in my own way?” When/with whom are we most prone to be that way? How do we snap back to maturity?

Thanks for your “likes” and comments!

5 thoughts on “The Difference Between Growth and Maturity”

  1. Hey, this is Glen. I get a tremendous number of views of this post for which I’m thankful. Can some of you comment so I can know a little about who is reading and what makes this post so helpful? Thanks!

  2. Greetings! Quick question that’s entirely off topic. Do you know how to make your site mobile friendly? My web site looks weird when viewing from my apple iphone. I’m trying to find a template or plugin that might be able to fix this problem. If you have any suggestions, please share. With thanks!|

  3. Glen,
    I really enjoyed your comparison with the real life illustration. It is very thought provoking. My kids have taught me about faith and the love of God as well. It is usually in the most simple yet profound ways. I hope to read more excerpts like this. I don’t use my email very much but I’ll be watching on Facebook.

    1. Thank you for reading and taking the time to comment. I try to write completely for whoever is reading, and I’m glad this post reached you in a meaningful way. God bless you and your family!

Leave a Reply

