Individual Right as Intolerance?


I was initially shocked and concerned when I read this tweet from a well-respected minister.

Same-sex marriage opponents who have jobs in all social fields are about to suffer huge consequences.

I am, after all, in a social field, a proponent of marriage, and an Apostolic minister.

Then I read the article attached to it. I am appalled at such action taken against an employee who supports individuals’ rights to have a voice in government, regardless of the issue or her feelings about the issue. This one statement really struck me:

McCaskill, who is deaf, used sign language at a press conference to express her dismay at the bullying. She noted the irony of the school suspending its chief diversity officer for expressing a diverse opinion: “I am dismayed that Gallaudet University is still a university of intolerance, a university that manages by intimidation, a university that allows bullying among faculty, staff, and students.”

“…suspending it’s chief diversity officer for expressing a diverse opinion.” That says it all to me concerning the state of the current society, where any expression of tolerance for the sake of tolerance seems to necessarily and fundamentally be a statement of intolerence. Try to wrap your head around that one.

If I must affirm my personal beliefs to my employer, whether it is my employers business or not, and face consequences for the same, so be it. I believe in marriage as it only has ever been- a holy union between one man and one woman. Because some things are not open to interpretation. Principles based on the Bible are not up for interpretation to me. If someone else believes differently, that is up to them. If I wish someone else to come to my belief, I can’t and won’t insult them, bully them, or label them. I’ll talk to them, listen to them, and explain my belief to them, to the extent they wish to hear. Then I will live by my beliefs and teach my children to do the same.

But if you want me to change, do me the same courtesy. You undermine your own purpose and my individual rights by becoming what you suppose to condemn- intolerant.

Leave a Reply

