Spiritual Waterworks


The scripture directly compares the Spirit to water:

In the last day, that great day of the feast, Jesus stood and cried, saying, If any man thirst, let him come unto me, and drink. He that believeth on me, as the scripture hath said, out of his belly shall flow rivers of living water. (But this spake he of the Spirit, which they that believe on him should receive: for the Holy Ghost was not yet given; because that Jesus was not yet glorified.) (John 7:37-39 KJV)

There is another scriptural dynamic we should be concerned about- we gain in giving, and lose in lording ourselves over that which we have.

I was meditating as I was running the other day and got this vision of what happens when we gain spiritually without giving away. Water, whether physical or spiritual, behaves in certain ways under certain conditions:

  • Water is either flowing or standing. Either way it is always doing something- it is moving from one place to another or it is changing states through evaporation.
  • Water occupies space and forms to fit the space that it occupies. Whether an 8 ounce glass or a 5 gallon bucket, once it is full, you either must stop filling or let it overflow.
  • As I apply this to myself, I don’t want to be full for the sake of being full. There is a spiritual water crisis in the world today! And I can’t expect to get more from God than what I give away. I want to come to God with as much space as I can in my life for His Spirit. Also, I don’t want to sit still until I “change states”. Active water is powerful and dynamic, it makes a change in the environment around it. I want to be active in my world and see a difference by the power of the Holy Spirit inside me. I hope you do too.

    Do you identify with this comparison? Are you static or dynamic? Flowing or evaporating spiritually? Do you need the Holy Spirit, Jesus Christ, alive in your life? Comment and let me know, I’d love to pray with you.

    20121021-052748.jpg

    Leave a Reply

    