Make Good on the Gift


I thank my God always on your behalf, for the grace of God which is given you by Jesus Christ… Even as the testimony of Christ was confirmed in you: So that ye come behind in no gift… 1 Corinthians 1:4, 6, 7

My wife had one of the worst headaches I have ever seen her experience. It was affecting her vision. She had already been pronounced as having a migraine.

We were at a church Christmas party. “Let so-and-so pray for you; he has the gift of healing.”

Now, I love So-and-so and don’t doubt that person’s gift at all. But I got a little righteous indignation in me. Because I have experienced the gift of healing at work, as well. No boast; it’s a gift from God. And this is my wife.

I would have been ok with someone else praying for her, but since they didn’t, I went ahead and prayed. I had to make good on my gift, one Christ has granted to me.

Within the hour, my wife’s vision was clear and the pain was almost gone. Just enough lingered that she wanted me to rub her temples and neck (which, I suspect she would have liked anyway, and I was happy to oblige!)

Do you have a gift of God lying dormant? Stir it up and unleash some light on the world!

Leave a Reply

