The Number One Reason to Stay Focused


MP900177811I was distracted. I had other things on my mind. I was committed, don’t get me wrong. But other things have a way of getting in the way.

I had a wakeup call. A reason to snap back to the present. He was following me around the church during prayer meeting. It was special prayer for the ministries and leaders of our church. We were walking around to designated areas where prayer needs were posted and the leaders of each ministry were stationed to receive special prayer. Each time I prayed over the needs and prayed over the leaders, I had a shadow doing the same thing.

He is a 6-year-old version of me that was fully engaged in what he was doing.

There was a little bit of excitement over getting to walk around the church instead of sitting still. And getting to use the anointing oil. But when I heard him pray, at first imitating my words but then finding his own, and seeking God with all his heart, I knew I had the greatest reason to stay focused on the important things in life. The example I’m leaving behind.

Leave a Reply

