Give Change a Chance- 3 Points When Choosing to Change


Waiting can be so hard.

I remember having the chance to interview for a supervisor position within my agency in Memphis. I was even encouraged to do so by my immediate supervisor at the time. My family’s ties are all in or around Jackson, and a lot of aspects of moving to Memphis didn’t thrill me. However, I was concerned that I would not have the opportunity to advance in my current program if I passed this chance up.

Ultimately I decided not to interview for the Memphis position. Within the year, my supervisor was promoted and I interviewed for the supervisor position in Jackson- and got the job. Waiting turned out to be the right thing to do.

If you make a decision out of the urgency that you may not have another chance, then you are making it for the wrong reason.

Time should keep us on our toes. Instead we are either hyper-vigilant about change, or completely oblivious to opportunities for change. Either one is an error.

Give change a chance. An opportunity for change should:

Prove its worth, not tax you to find the value.
Be durable, not fragile based on needing an answer now.
Not compromise your family, values, or personal goals.

With this post we arrive back at the point we started from- time is your friend when considering a change or adapting to change that has been thrust upon you. Not every change will allow you all the time in the world to decide, but you should never jump in without knowing that the change before you is the right change to make.

What do you think? What would you add to the 3 points above? Let me know in the comments below.

Copyright (c) 2013 Glen Gaugh

Leave a Reply

