It Began with a Blog- 3 Reasons I’ll Keep Blogging


I have been on a hiatus from blogging. I haven’t posted here since February 4th. It has been beneficial in many ways. I haven’t been checking my stats so much. I’ve refocused on other things that are important, too. There has to be a return to balance from time to time.

I have been writing like crazy for a while. Not just on this blog, but for other sources as well, like Lead Change Group and Social Work/Social Care in Media. I burned myself out a little bit. Not just with writing, either, mind you. I have obsessed a bit about how to make my writing profitable. I do have a goal to make some income from my writing, which is a worthy goal. But that isn’t happening right now. To be honest, I’m a little limited in what I can do with my current format and I don’t feel like I know nearly enough to make it take off yet. I read everything that comes across my email from Dukeo, sometimes feeling encouraged, sometimes more discouraged.

All the work I’ve done and time I’ve invested has seemed to be in vain, after reading a post from Hector Cuevas that labeled the numbers I coveted as signs of progress (pageviews, social media followers) as “vanity numbers.” You see, at this point I don’t sell anything or market any service, so I’m not generating leads, closing deals, etc., as a result of my blog.

However, I am going to continue blogging, and I have 3 very important reasons why.

  1. I’m an ideas guy. I like to share ideas. Also, I like telling stories. The posts of mine that get the best responses tell personal stories. Blogging, at its most basic level, is for me. It’s also for my wife and boys, who will forever and always have a record of these stories and ideas. It’s part of my legacy.
  2. My blog has helped me maintain positive relationships with significant people. I have former professors of mine that subscribe to and read my posts. Former employers and mentors as well. I run into people I haven’t seen in a long time that tell me they read the blog and it makes them think. This has led to some opportunities to stay in touch and to contribute, directly or indirectly, to important activities. I’ve had, and I’m looking forward to, opportunities to speak to classes and civic groups about leadership and social work.My blog reminds people I’m still here.Image
  3. I have formed new partnerships as a result of my online efforts. Some of these offer significant opportunities, like establishing a social media debate and multimedia learning opportunities with Social Work/Social Care in Media (follow #SWSCmedia for these debates on Wednesdays at 8pmEST). I get emails from organizations like Medical Patient Modesty, and though this partnership isn’t fully formed, I think, “Wow, this group found me because of my blog!” I love the opportunities to connect with others and hear their missions and priorities that come through my efforts with this blog.

I’m not saying that it isn’t a goal of mine to have a business around my ideas and my writing. It explicitly is. However, for the 3 reasons above, this blog will always be my flagship. And for these reasons, I will be adding a calendar to my Home page so you can keep up with what I’m doing, learn how to get involved, or invite me in to be involved with your events and activities. I may create sites and email lists and products in the future. But you can always find me here, and I’ll be glad to know you through our interactions around these topics and ideas.

I’ve borne my heart a little bit here; thanks for bearing with me! What do you think? What do you need to step back from in order to see the value it has for you? Let me know in the comments below.

Copyright (c) 2013 Glen Gaugh

4 thoughts on “It Began with a Blog- 3 Reasons I’ll Keep Blogging”

      1. Thanks Sherry! You’re one of the mentors I was talking about! Thanks for your contributions to me. It’s about time to sit down together and talk again.

    1. Pauline – I’m not sure why you are having that prbelom. I just checked and all the pages seem to be operating properly. Your browser may not be acting properly, or you may need to install a more current version of Adobe Reader (adobe.com). Hope you get it sorted…

Leave a Reply

