The Greatest Display of Christian Character I’ve Ever Seen Was From My Son


20130505-212519.jpg

The Sunday school kids opened up the pastor’s message today by singing “I Am A Christian…”

I am a C… I am a CH… I am a C-H-R-I-S-T-I-A-N… And I have C-H-R-I-S-T in my H-E-A-R-T and I will L-I-V-E E-T-E-R-N-A-L-L-Y!

The pastor asked several of the kids what it meant to be a Christian after they finished the song. There were several good answers. When he came to my son Elisha, he said that a Christian is someone who worships Jesus. The message from there was about how the world knows when they see someone who is truly a Christian.

Well, I know my son can give the right answers. But after church is when I witnessed that he can show the right example.

We came across the sailor in the picture above at Big Lots. Elisha has always looked up to servicemen he sees in public but has been too shy to talk to them- until today. When we told him he could go thank the sailor for protecting our country, he did. When his mother told him to say he would pray for him, Elisha didn’t wait. He put his hand right up on his shoulder and prayed:

Jesus, thank you for the sailors that help us protect our country, and Jesus protect this sailor, and help him shoot the right bad guys, and keep him safe if he gets captured, and help him come home safe. In Jesus name, Amen.

It is amazing when your children exceed your highest hopes and expectations. We’ve raised our son to be respectful, but it’s only God that can bring out the wonderful example of character and concern we witnessed today!

Fathers and mothers: the best today’s are the product of something we did yesterday. Encourage your children, and they will most certainly exceed your highest expectations!

What are your stories of greatness you’ve seen in your children? I’d love to read them in the comments below!

Copyright (c) 2013 Glen Gaugh

Leave a Reply

