Great American Heros


imageMy son has been imitating a great American hero all day on July 4th: Indiana Jones. Why do I consider Indy a great American hero? He fought Nazis and Russians, found cool artifacts, and had awesome adventures. And you don’t get any cooler than the fedora and bullwhip! One of the greatest movie lines of all time: when Dr. Spalko asks Indy if he has any last words in “Kingdom of the Chrystal Skull”, he says, “I like Ike!”. I’m a geek for all the movie trivia from “Raiders” through “Chrystal Skull.” My boy just loves the adventure part and the dress-up part.

I’ve passed on a great legacy of loving great cinematic heroes to my son; what about the rest of my legacy? What will he truly learn from me? Will I inspire them to aspire to greatness?

On this Independence Day, my mind turns to what my legacy will be for my children. I determined, and pledged to God, that my children will do greater things than I do in my lifetime, many times over will they do great things. I already have evidence that they are on the right track to accomplishing this:

20130505-212519.jpg

The issue with a pledge like this is not will my children rise to the task, but will I leave them something worth aspiring to? I think the biggest reason children do not rise to the task is that they do not see a legacy before them that compels them to greatness.

…with a firm reliance on the protection of Divine Providence, we mutually pledge to each other our Lives, our Fortunes, and our sacred Honor. Declaration of Independence

Having a view of legacy as I have described, to me, means always considering what the next step will be. Approaching Independence Day, my view was toward what I can do to be of public service. I thought of the immortal words the Founders of our country signed their name to, and wondered what I will be signing my name to honor and defend.

What is my Life devoted to?
My Fortune pledged to?
My Honor attached to?

I signed my name on the dotted line to Christ, giving up all rights to my life as my own. Where is my action to be directed next? There are battles to be fought and won. I’ll share where I am now and where I hope to go in the next post or two. Until then, what is the legacy you are leaving your children, Dad?

Copyright (c) 2013 Glen Gaugh

Leave a Reply

