More Than A Morning Routine- Prayer With Our Children


Today is the third day that I have fulfilled an ongoing challenge that was set forth by my pastor a couple of Sundays ago. At the close of the sermon, he challenged every parent to pray for their children each morning before sending them to school all year long, in order to see what great things God will do for them and through them. So each of the past 3 days I have taken my son’s hand before he gets out of the car and prayed with him, finishing just in time to say, “I love you, have a good day,” and getting my morning fist bump.

The first day, I prayed for God’s protection over my son, his teacher, classmates, and all of the students. I also prayed that my son would be able to do the right things and be a good example. When I finished, he said, “Dad, pray for me to have wisdom.” I prayed again that he would have wisdom. *fist bump* “I love you, have a good day.”

The second day, I prayed as the first and remembered to pray for Elisha to have wisdom. *fist bump* “I love you, have a good day.”

Today, the third day, I prayed for my son’s protection, his wisdom, for him to do the right things, and for others in the school to see Jesus in my son and know Jesus because of him. When the prayer was finished, I looked at my son to see his eyes red and wet with tears. “I think they know Jesus, I know Chad does, because he…,” I was amazed by the sensitivity that my little man had to whether or not those around him know Jesus. “Well, I’m glad he does, but not everyone does know Jesus. That’s why we always have to show Jesus to others.” “Fist bump, daddy,” he reminded me. Then he said to me, “I love you, have a good day!”

What would happen in the lives of our kids if we prayed regularly and specifically with and for our children? Are you ready to try it? Be ready to be amazed by what God will do in just a matter of days.

Copyright (c) 2013 Glen Gaugh

2 thoughts on “More Than A Morning Routine- Prayer With Our Children”

    1. That’s awesome. The morning time prayers are new for us, but mine prays at night and at random times when he feels he needs to. It’s great. Thanks for commenting!

Leave a Reply

