Making the Most of Space


(Check out my video on utilizing time and space!)

It is the final frontier and all…

I got married 8 years ago and moved into the first house my wife and I would share together. It’s a small, 2-bedroom, 1-bathroom house out in the county. Cozy, quaint, not very new, but what do you expect for your first year of marriage, right? It was exactly right for that time in our lives, when there was still the sheen of all things new and we had rose petals and lace left over from the wedding.

The neat thing was, since it was a 2-bedroom and there was only two of us, and we only needed one room to ourselves (obviously), I got to set up the extra room as an office. I wasn’t a “professional” yet, and I wasn’t even back in college yet, but I was a youth pastor with tons of books and plenty of projects I could spread out over the nice, albeit inexpensive, desk that my wife bought for me. She even decorated everything in wood-grain and saddle leather, real manly digs, for my own personal work space. It was great.

20131105-103821.jpgAbout the time that I really started needing an office (I went back to school), baby boy #1 comes along. And, in addition to commanding all attention and every waking moment, most of which he created for us when we preferred to be asleep, he also demanded space in our house for himself. After a few years, baby numero dos bounces in, along with a master’s program and my job as a psychiatric crisis responder.

The next thing I know, I’m waking up at 6am on the couch, with the TV on blue screen, a textbook on one side, a crisis assessment on the other, and my laptop perched precariously on my knees. At least 3-4 nights a week. The wood grain was painted over, the saddle leather was stored away, and all my office supplies had long been replaced by wheels and balls and squeaky toys. I was in no-man’s land! I still am, sort of. Thankfully I am no longer in college and I have a nice office at work, but I’m still in that same house with no space of my own.

Don’t get me wrong. I love my home, and while we could use extra space, I’m happy there. Even during those trying times work-wise, I was able to make the best of it:

  • I maximized my time and tried to stay mobile and organized.
  • I tended to work when I was at my best and most productive (even if it was 1am).
  • I learned to embrace and enjoy the chaos that sometimes surrounded me.
  • And I got my family used to me working while they were doing other things. Even though work and family time seemed to blend and blur, we were together a lot and I didn’t have to miss out on many happy moments I otherwise would have.

    But the main point is that if you are going to get anything done, you have to have space to do it. I included a link to a great article I read just this morning that talks about how to be more productive by adapting your work space. I hope it helps, and I wish you all a great week!

    So how are you setting yourself up for success? How do you make the most of it with limitations that you may have in your space? Let me know in the comments!

    Copyright (c) 2013 Glen Gaugh

    Leave a Reply

    