Living a Life That Honors God- Dads on Mission Digest


I haven’t put out a digest in several days because I have been busy working on something that is a burden and a passion for my family and me. Today is the 40th anniversary of the Roe v. Wade decision that used a broad interpretation of the 14th Amendment Due process clause to read a right to privacy into the Constitution and to legalize first trimester abortions, and later term abortions under the one exception, being if the mother’s life is endangered by the pregnancy. Since then, over 56 million unborn children have been aborted in the name of choice. The biggest reason by far for having an abortion is not being prepared to be a parent at the time of conception.

On this past Sunday we celebrated Sanctity of Human Life Day at Beech Bluff Pentecostal Church, along with congregations all across the nation. We had a life-changing move of God as I brought a message called The Case for Children and we had our children pray for the adults during the alter call. I will post a link to audio once I have it.

I also serve as President of the Madison Co. Tennessee Right to Life chapter and have been writing op ed pieces for our state organization. It has been a great channel for my writing passion and hopefully will do some good toward convincing citizens in our state to vote yes on Amendment 1 which will make our state Constitution neutral on the issue of abortion and allow for common sense protections to be presented by our legislators at the request of the people. A number of denominational organizations will be passing resolutions in support of this effort. If your denomination or church planting network in Tennessee would like to know more, contact me at (glengaugh@gmail.com). God bless, and check out few posts from our Dads on Mission contributors-

I AM DEEPLY SADDENED BY THE PRESIDENT’S PRAISE OF ABORTION. 55 MILLION ABORTIONS IS A HOLOCAUST.
“Since 1973, Americans have had more than 55 million abortions. Unless we change course, the number will soon be 60 million. Consider the horror of that fact. We as a nation will soon have murdered ten times more Americans than the number of Jews that the Nazis killed during the Holocaust.” Read more

Well said. The only thing that rivals that fact is the fact that our President is praising the decision in spite of its horrific implications.

Meet Matt
“I never expected this when I came to faith… I wasn’t from a Christian family, my family had very different aspirations for me. I heard the gospel preached in a community that lived out grace, that made sense to me, and God had mercy so i started following Him and following Him led to planting a church.” Watch here

Great video describing the calling of one church planter. God bless your work, Matt.

7 Ways to Make Sure You Are A Martin Luther King, Jr. Kind of Christian
“Martin Luther King Jr. was a certain kind of Christian with a family background, education, and life experience that led him to embody the prophetic tradition of Christian faith.” Read more

I love and respect Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. and his legacy. I would hope to emulate much about him in my own ministry. I think the article here is couched in some assumptions that would lead the church, and we as individuals, to accept sin for the sake of tolerance and equality. And I think it is sad to assume that we have to accept sin and sinful notions in order to accept people and fight for people to be regarded with dignity.

Leave a Reply

