Four Ways My Effectiveness Has Been Lifted Lately


20120630-112635.jpg

John Maxwell wrote in The 21 Indispensable Laws of Leadership about the Law of the Lid. The law states that your effectiveness will never exceed your ability to lead- leadership is your lid. The great things is that you can raise your effectiveness by raising your level of leadership. And what is even better is that you can bring lid-lifters around you- people who help raise your leadership lid. I was blessed to spend some time with some lid-lifters this past week and I believe the results will be spectacular.

I wrote a resolution for consideration by the Tennessee District United Pentecostal Church at our District Conference in April. The purpose of the resolution is to recognize and support the Yes On 1 campaign in Tennessee, which is a grassroots effort to pass a pro-life constitutional amendment. I met with the resolution committee to discuss my resolution, and here are the ways that this group of lid-lifters raised my effectiveness in just a few minutes of time:

They increased my long-term effectiveness by suggesting I change my focus from recognizing this one-time effort to strengthening our organization’s pro-life stance. To do this, they said it would be better to propose that the organization adopt a district-level position statement regarding abortion. This currently only exists on the national level. By doing so, our district will show support of the national organization’s pro-life stance, as well as support for Tennessee as advocates work to pass the constitutional amendment this year.

They suggested ways I could improve the work I had already done. It only took a few moments to give guidance on how to do a better job, detailing how to use my existing work to meet the purpose they were suggesting.

They acknowledged the importance of my work which helped in two ways: I felt acknowledged personally, and I felt that they had my best interest at heart in the things they were saying to me because they were invested in what I was trying to do.

They opened my eyes to new possibilities. I had never considered crafting my resolution to adopt a new position on such an important subject, but these individuals knew the possibilities I had never considered, and they offered me the chance to fulfill those possibilities.

In the end, I believe we had stronger product. Not only that, but I feel like I have been able to lift the lid for my organization. Just by stepping out to bring attention to an issue in our state, the eyes of our organization will be opened and we will have the chance to fulfill greater ministry as a result. Moral of the story- don’t be afraid to try, and don’t be afraid to listen to the lid-lifters in your life. I you don’t know who they are, start looking for them. You will benefit from them, I promise.

Have you had any lid-lifting experiences lately? Let me know; I’d love to hear about it!

Copyright 2014 Glen Gaugh

Leave a Reply

