A Prayer for the Lost


God is the God of lost things.
Lost causes, lost time, lost opportunity, lost loved ones.

We tend not to pray for the things that are in our hands. The time we use exactly like we should. The people that we have assurance are ok. We pray for the lost.

Luke 15 is all about lost things being found.

And when he cometh home, he calleth together his friends and neighbours, saying unto them, Rejoice with me; for I have found my sheep which was lost. (verse 6)

And when she hath found it, she calleth her friends and her neighbours together, saying, Rejoice with me; for I have found the piece which I had lost. (verse 9)

For this my son was dead, and is alive again; he was lost, and is found. And they began to be merry. (‭verse 24‬)

We let our overpowering desire to do something, do anything, get in the way of passionate prayer over what we have lost.

In our work on the Yes On 1 campaign, there have been an endless number of tasks to do or to delegate. In the closing days of the campaign, it has become overwhelming to think that something is going undone that needs to be done, or to wonder if anything we’ve done has made any difference at all.

The real danger is in looking at our list of accomplishments, the strength or our organization, the poll of public opinion, and deciding, “Hey, we’ve got this. There’s no way we can lose!” Because we don’t pray over the issues we’ve won. We pray over the issues we are in danger of losing.

I woke early this very morning thinking about all I should have accomplished for our cause over the past week and feeling that I have come up woefully short. I tried to go back to sleep for a while, but then realized I was about to pass up a tremendous opportunity. I spent the most painful hour in prayer I believe I have ever spent. My mind was everywhere else but here, thinking about the things that needed done. I could have sent an email. I could have written a blog post (I wanted to get this post out so badly). But I forced myself to stay on point and pray. I knew I was doing the right thing because everything else conspired to make prayer so hard to do.

It is ironic that in order to have victory, we must see ourselves as in danger of losing to the point that prayer takes precedence over everything else. But when I am weak, Jesus is strong. When I make myself strong, I reduce Christ’s ability to be strong on my behalf, and I doom the lost to remain lost.

Make prayer a priority today and pray for the lost people and lost causes in your life. He will make all the difference.

Leave a Reply

