Why We’re Fasting Today- Tennessee’s Pro-life Amendment 1, Vote Yes On 1


My wife is tougher than I am. She actually started the day before yesterday…

Is not this the fast that I have chosen? to loose the bands of wickedness, to undo the heavy burdens, and to let the oppressed go free, and that ye break every yoke? Then shalt thou call, and the Lord shall answer; thou shalt cry, and he shall say, Here I am. If thou take away from the midst of thee the yoke, the putting forth of the finger, and speaking vanity; And if thou draw out thy soul to the hungry, and satisfy the afflicted soul; then shall thy light rise in obscurity, and thy darkness be as the noonday: (‭Isaiah‬ ‭58‬:‭6, 9-10‬ KJV)

I was reading my Bible this morning, and the words took on life in front of me. And it dawned on me. Fasting, as many are doing today in support of Tennessee’s Amendment 1, is not a way to gain special favor with God. It isn’t a way to show how holy you are. It isn’t about influencing others with a pitiful show. It isn’t about anyone else at all.

Fasting is about removing the vanity in my life. Destroying the yoke and removing it from my midst, so that my life can shine out.

So why would fasting be important to the passage of Amendment 1, or anything else for that matter? Because fasting is how I know what I need to do and how I need to pray. It is a way, as the scripture says, to “draw out thy soul to the hungry, to satisfy the afflicted soul.” I’m not capable of that on my own. In spite of the common misconception, human beings are not inherently good and prone to deprive themselves for the good of others.

It is never too late to pray and fast for the move of God you need to see in your life. If you had only one hour to devote to anything of any significance at all, prayer and fasting would be the most effective way to spend that time. Many believe that the die is cast, the decision has been made, for good or ill, concerning Amendment 1. But that isn’t true. It isn’t true regarding Amendment 1, and it isn’t true about whatever you are facing that needs the hand of God to move.

Prayer and fasting change things. No outcome is unattainable, no problem too big. Our needs are never greater than God’s ability to meet them.

And in case you think I am writing this to draw attention to myself for fasting, I don’t really care. I’m in a place with God right now that makes me pity you for not experiencing Him in this same way. If you read this in light of the intent in which it is written, then you will soon join me in heavenly places!

Leave a Reply

