It’s Ok to be Angry when God’s Word is Trampled- Psalm 119


I remembered thy judgments of old, O Lord; and have comforted myself. Horror hath taken hold upon me because of the wicked that forsake thy law. Thy statutes have been my songs in the house of my pilgrimage. (‭Psalms‬ ‭119‬:‭52-54‬ KJV)

It’s easy to be horrified at the way God’s word has been forsaken today.
The holy has been profaned, the wicked has been called good.
The culture is turned toward death, destruction, and misery.
And every way of escape the world proposes only perpetuates those horrors.

Your laws are perfect and completely trustworthy. I am overwhelmed with indignation, for my enemies have disregarded your words. (‭Psalms‬ ‭119‬:‭138-139‬ NLT)

But God’s law is perfect, trustworthy in every way.
We should be indignant, we should be angry. I’m angry, I’m overwhelmed with the zeal of the Lord.

This language I express myself with, that David uses to express himself, is unacceptable in the culture today. It is associated with terror like Islam perpetuates, or intolerance like Westboro Baptist demonstrates.

This anger and righteously-indignant spirit is counter-cultural. But it does not lead us to do the things the world projects on us. Yes, they project their hatred, fear, and insecurity onto us, because they can’t be right and us as Christians be right at the same time. So we must be the evil ones.

They would play on our fears of being misunderstood, of appearing crazy, of losing credibility in the eyes of people we want to reach. The church needs to go along to get along, get out of the way, not involve itself in speaking out against this breaking of God’s law.

I can’t be less than angry and indignant about God’s word being trodden under foot in the world today. So what shall I do?

Let thy mercies come also unto me, O Lord, even thy salvation, according to thy word. So shall I have wherewith to answer him that reproacheth me: for I trust in thy word. And take not the word of truth utterly out of my mouth; for I have hoped in thy judgments. (‭Psalms‬ ‭119‬:‭41-43‬ KJV)

I’ll give an answer.

Leave a Reply

