Why You Should Read the Bible at Least 1 Hour a Day


(image via eaglerising.com)

I have started a 90-day Bible challenge on my YouVersion Bible App. In addition, I started a 60-day reading plan through the New Testament that I am doing with some other guys from church. I have fallen behind on the actual calendar of days, but I’m at least keeping pace at around 2 days behind what the schedule calls for.

It is a challenge to read enough Bible to get through it all within 90 days. But I have discovered something as I have held my commitment to Bible reading in 2015 that I want to pass on to you.

I seriously recommend making time to read the Bible at least one hour per day.

I have started 365-day Bible reading plans in the past, and my record has been losing out on it within a month. Part of my problem, I believe, has to do with a revelation I had based on the teaching of Dr. Henry Cloud in his book, Boundaries for Leaders. Last year, I heard Dr. Cloud address an audience of mostly counselors and their supervisors on the topic of focus. When we have distractions happen as we are trying to focus on work, our working memory loses track of where we were and what we were doing immediately before the distraction occurred.

It is our working memory, right at the front of our brains, that we depend on to help us accomplish tasks. This memory is easily accessible and focused only on the immediate situation. When you sit down for 15 minutes and read 3-4 chapters, then get up and go about your day, you lose so much of what you just read. There is less to recall of what you just read the following day when it is time to pick back up where you left off.

I have found that, by expecting myself to read longer, while being held accountable by the long, long daily reading list, I am able to take in more of the Bible and make a bigger impact on my life.

The Bible itself stresses the need to keep the Word in our working memory:

And these words, which I command thee this day, shall be in thine heart: And thou shalt teach them diligently unto thy children, and shalt talk of them when thou sittest in thine house, and when thou walkest by the way, and when thou liest down, and when thou risest up. And thou shalt bind them for a sign upon thine hand, and they shall be as frontlets between thine eyes. And thou shalt write them upon the posts of thy house, and on thy gates. (‭Deuteronomy‬ ‭6‬:‭6-9‬ KJV)

And it stresses the danger of not keeping the Word before your eyes regularly:

And it shall be, when the Lord thy God shall have brought thee into the land which he sware unto thy fathers, to Abraham, to Isaac, and to Jacob, to give thee great and goodly cities, which thou buildedst not, And houses full of all good things, which thou filledst not, and wells digged, which thou diggedst not, vineyards and olive trees, which thou plantedst not; when thou shalt have eaten and be full; Then beware lest thou forget the Lord, which brought thee forth out of the land of Egypt, from the house of bondage. (‭Deuteronomy‬ ‭6‬:‭10-12‬ KJV)

If you’re like me, you know what it is like to get lost in God’s Word have time leave you behind. Those are the times I have gotten the most benefit and pleasure from the Bible. It is harder to to make such a time committment on a daily basis, but I promise you, you will be the better for it.

Leave a Reply

